Sometimes It’s Okay To Run,,,,,,,,Away

One day I was discussing with my mom about a common phenomenon in my culture,about women who get married and come back home due to a misunderstanding with their husbands.Though this is very common,I made my mom to understand that when I get married,I would never come back because I will be happily married.

Today I have a different view,that sometimes these women are forced to run away.

Sometimes these women are threatened to leave!

Not only married women run away,singles run away too! I have been living an almost confused life for the last six months. I ran away and came back home.

I couldn’t understand myself until I found Elijah running away from Jezebel.

I thought running away was for the weak,for women,for girls,but no,Elijah, a man of God ran away from a woman.

Joseph also ran from Potiphar’s wife.Joseph was not a weak man,he had strong principles.He was a man of integrity.He didn’t want to commit adultery with his boss’s wife.

Elijah ran away after performing great miracles.He said it wouldn’t rain for three years and it didn’t rain.He challenged the prophets of Baal to call their god who didn’t respond,but when he called his God,the Lord responded with fire.He later on prayed for rain and God responded with heavy rain.Elijah was a great man of God but he was also human.When Jezebel threatened to kill him,he got afraid and ran for his dear life.

When someone threatens to kill you,will you wait to see what will happen or will you run away to a safer place?

I am almost sure that if Elijah did not run away,Jezebel would have killed him,she would have kept her word.

If someone threatens you,please start moving away,and go very far away.Elijah went very far away,to the wilderness,he was all alone.Surprisingly,this is where the Lord showed up.

The Lord found Elijah when he was so discouraged,he wished to die.Can you imagine that this great man of God would be so discouraged as to wish to die? Then what about you and me? Then its normal to get discouraged in life sometimes.

When you are faced with challenges and you are discouraged in life,just know that the Lord is not far from you.

In Elijah’s case,angels appeared in his time of distress and provided food.

1 Kings 19:5-8

5 Then as he lay and slept under a broom tree, suddenly an [b]angel touched him, and said to him, “Arise and eat.” Then he looked, and there by his head was a cake baked on [c]coals, and a jar of water. So he ate and drank, and lay down again. And the [d]angel of the Lord came back the second time, and touched him, and said, “Arise and eat, because the journey is too great for you.” So he arose, and ate and drank; and he went in the strength of that food forty days and forty nights as far as Horeb, the mountain of God.

Isn’t this encouraging,when you are in distress,God will take care of your needs.

The Lord Himself appeared to Elijah when he had ran away.

1 Kings 19:11-12

11 Then He said, “Go out, and stand on the mountain before the Lord.” And behold, the Lord passed by, and a great and strong wind tore into the mountains and broke the rocks in pieces before the Lord, but the Lord was not in the wind; and after the wind an earthquake, but the Lord was not in the earthquake; 12 and after the earthquake a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire; and after the fire [e]a still small voice.
13 So it was, when Elijah heard it, that he wrapped his face in his mantle and went out and stood in the entrance of the cave. Suddenly a voice came to him, and said, “What are you doing here, Elijah?”

I really loved this question,”What are you doing here,Elijah?” Its like,Elijah,you aren’t supposed to be here,what’s up?

When I am running away,getting lost in the wilderness, I can here that question,”What are you doing here,Stella?” And then I’ll start saying so and so is disturbing me,chasing me,wants to hurt me,etc

If the Lord would appear to me when I’ve run away,then I’ll keep on running away.

Interestingly,God still used Elijah in this state.The Lord used him to anoint two kings and Elisha,a man who would succeed him as prophet!

King David’s wish:

Psalm 55:6-8

And I said, Oh that I had wings like a dove! for then would I fly away, and be at rest.

Lo, then would I wander far off, and remain in the wilderness. Selah.

I would hasten my escape from the windy storm and tempest.


Leave a comment